The Happy Land of Tea and Books

by Victoria Madden

Another happy find: the delightful tea-table of Mlle Berlioz at ‘Miss Darcy’s Library’ whose evocative prose draws you into an enviable life seeking out stationery, books, flowers (and tea!) and the later revelling in their pleasures in her little flat in Paris; a bulwark of loveliness and peace in an otherwise turbulent world.

Miss Darcy's Library

     “You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.” – C. S. Lewis

     In December, I promised you all a post on tea and books. I had just come across Birgit’s “Tea and Books Reading Challenge” over on The Book Garden, which was inspired by C. S. Lewis’s famous remark, and I was delighted to have a cast-iron excuse to bring together two of my favourite pastimes: reading and drinking tea. As so often, the thousand and one trivial concerns of daily life then got the better of me and before I knew it, January was drawing to an end. But the weather here in Paris has suddenly taken a turn for the worse and, as I walked down the cobble-stoned streets of the 5th arrondissement on my way to work yesterday morning, wincing as the icy wind bit…

View original post 720 more words

