On Writing

by Victoria Madden

I’ve been trying for a while now to find a post that best sums up ‘Tales from the Reading Room‘, a small corner of civilized debate in the darkness of a turbulent world. This isn’t quite it, but, as a writer, I was very struck by the ‘ring of Truth’ feeling I got when I read this post and felt it was something to be shared.

Tales from the Reading Room

Somehow or other – and I’m not sure how to do it – I’ve got to face up to the fact that I have a book to write for a deadline of August 2007. That sounds like a long way away, but I know the tricks that time plays on you, how one moment it’s Lady Bountiful with arms overflowing, then the next moment it’s Scrooge, tightening the purse strings. Oddly enough the difficulty arises from my sense of good fortune in having a whole year for my project. Up until now I’ve written my books the way I write my blog, carving out pockets of time and space, filling in the corners of life, stuffing up the little gaps with as many words as I can get in. I’ve always identified with Isaac Asimov who said: ‘If my doctor told me I had only six minutes to live, I…

View original post 573 more words

